Man, I feel like a woman.

Oh,_Bother!_Somebody's_Grumpy_Cover_(Older)

This winter has sucked. Don’t get me wrong, snow is beautiful. I like layers of clothing. I like hot soups and beverages. However, it’s been so cold, I don’t think I’ve had proper circulation to my toes in the last 48 hours and for that, I am grumpy. My standard catalyst for grumpiness-alleviation is food (and blankets, naps and puppies). Particularly, food though. And particularly food of the sweet variety. I’m sure this comes as an utter surprise to all.

tumblr_n0414cdMPy1t7i7bvo1_500

As per usual, I’ve been perusing Pinterest in search of different treats to make and have not been disappointed. I should emphasize the word “treat” considering the fact that I recently made a board titled “Life’s Short”. Since I’m 93% sure you’re smarter than the average Sherlock, you’ve likely already deduced that I’ve been looking at desserts lately. Pictures and recipes.

Speaking of the word dessert, I never had the inner struggle of, “Is it desert or dessert that you eat before dinner?” I find it [nearly] impossible to misspell. In elementary school, my teacher helped us determine the difference by explaining that dessert is something you want a second helping of, hence the extra s. Though a desert is looking equally as inviting at this point, I’m not looking for a second helping of it quite like I am for dessert. (Plus, I’ll be in the desert in 3 weeks anyway, so I guess I can wait). Thank you everlasting sweet tooth for the spelling lesson.

I feel my XX chromosomes are responsible for my new Pinterest board, this entire blog post and partially for my inability to misspell dessert. The second I laid my eyes on this picture below, I saw Oreo Fairies dancing. I saw grown men weeping happy tears, children giggling, the warm sun glistening, an army of puppies playing, and all traffic lights changing to green right before driving through the intersection.

I. Had. To. Make. It.

Disclaimer: this isn't my picture, but it will make you drool.
Disclaimer: this isn’t my picture, but it will make you drool.

IMMEDIATELY.

So, I did. Here’s what the original recipe (CLICK HERE FOR THE ORIGINAL RECIPE) and instructions called for according to Tiffany:

INGREDIENTS
  • 1 cup butter
  • ⅔ cup cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 4 eggs
  • 1½ cups sugar
  • ½ cup brown sugar
  • 2 cups flour
  • 12-16 oreos
  • 1 cup mint chips
  • Optional: additional granulated sugar for sprinkling
INSTRUCTIONS
  1. Preheat oven to 375. Line an 8×8 inch pan with foil and spray with cooking spray, set aside.
  2. In a medium sauce pan, melt butter of medium heat. Stir in cocoa powder and vanilla. Pour mixture into a large mixing bowl. Add eggs, sugars, and flour and mix until all ingredients are incorporated and well combined. Pour half of batter into prepared pan. Lay a single layer of oreos side by side on top of batter. Pour remaining batter over oreos and spread evenly. Bake 30-40 minutes until a toothpick comes out mostly clean.
  3. Melt chocolate chips, then spread over brownies. Sprinkle with optional sugar if desired. Allow to cool completely before cutting into squares.

I pretty much followed the directions word for word but I definitely pulled an Emeril Lagasse on the recipe and KICKED IT UP A NOTCH!

emeril-29zryfz

I upgraded my plain Oreos to Mint Oreos, which were a nice touch with the green, and I substituted Andes Mints for mint chips. Not nearly as pretty, but I couldn’t find those mint chips at the stupid grocery store.

Important Side Note: Come February 3, OREOS WITH COOKIE DOUGH FILLING WILL EXIST ON GROCERY STORE SHELVES.

“Oreo this week introduced two new flavors: cookie dough and marshmallow crispy. It’s part of a new effort by Oreo to market to women having a hard time right now.”
— Cecily Strong, SNL Weekend Update

 

This recipe is clearly far from healthy, but sometimes you need something to help you cope with the winter blues, and this definitely helps a little… especially with a scoop or 3 of ice cream.

Here’s a picture of my brownies. I was skeptical about lining the pan with foil, but it was incredibly helpful in the fact that I could transfer my concoction easily to display on a pretty plate. Obviously, I had to cut a piece out first so that you could better see the green mint Oreo filling. Obviously that’s why there’s a piece missing, obviously.

IMG_4306-1

This is easy to make and it doesn’t suck. Not even a little. So make it. It’s an excuse to use your oven and warm up your place too. Not to mention the fact that it WILL smell like chocolatey goodness then.

See ya. Stay warm, dammit. Wear wool socks and eat chocolate.

Here’s 1 Interesting fact that I found from the article “11 Icky But Interesting Facts About Poop“:

It’s Normal to Pass Gas … Often

The act of flatulence is embarrassing, at least for some, but this result of harmless bacteria breaking down food in the large intestine is completely healthy. Your colon is filled with bacteria that release gas as a byproduct of digesting the food you eat. Your body absorbs some of it into the bloodstream, which you breathe out through your lungs, and expels the rest out of your other end. It’s normal to pass gas anywhere from 10 to 18 times a day, according to the American College of Gastroenterology.

Cheers to being extra normal.

 

Leave a Reply

