New Years Resolution: Engaged!

Oh gawd, I didn’t even think about it until after I named this post that someone might read JUST the title and assume that I am engaged and/or trying to achieve that. All I can say is no. Just, NO. Blasphemy. Ha, on second thought though, I don’t think anyone would assume that of me. Sooooo moving right along then…

One of my many New Years Resolutions is to update this blog more frequently. My goal is at least twice a month. That’s the minimum. So here we go, stickin’ to it. The starting of the resolution is always the easiest, it’s the following up after that’s the issue. Kind of like going to the gym, which I am currently avoiding as it’s probably more crowded right now than the mall the week before Christmas. Man, I’m salty today.

Am I the only person who hasn’t come to terms with the fact that meteorologists are naming winter storms? Welp regardless, it’s cold as balls outside. It has officially become fuzzy jams, wool socks with slippers, and hot soup 24/7 weather. I wish the world would just be canceled when it’s colder than the surface of Mars in some locations (lookin’ at you, Duluth.) But alas, we are all slaves to the man and the show must go on. ‘MERICA!

Up until 3 years ago, I was convinced that I hated mushrooms. In a fit of mild and temporary ‘starvation’, I tried the Cream of Mushroom soup while working at the KGC and my life changed for the better. *sigh* I still think about that soup (and their clam chowder) often. I get attached to food in that way. People with normal social skills likely develop bonds of that variety with other people. I do with other food. I have a coworker who recently discovered my undying love for Cool Runnings, food, and my acceptance of a lack of social life, which has led our conversations to ending with an, “Okay Liz Lemon” in a disappointed tone. I see absolutely nothing disappointing in that.

Image

Liz Lemon, you are my spirit animal.

Okay, but back to food.

Grown up Christine now knows that fungus is the right kind of funky. I’ve been wanting to make cream of mushroom soup for a while but I can never settle on a recipe that merits my attention and energy. (PS That was a classy way of calling myself lazy.) There’s a happy ending to this lazy story– I found a creamy mushroom, vegetable and chicken soup recipe that’s spot on. Click that last sentence if you want to see the original recipe. It’s pretty bomb.

There’s really only 2 things that I did differently from the original recipe:

  1. I left out the corn. Not because I hate corn, but because I definitely forgot to buy it at the grocery store and didn’t realize it until I started making the soup. Derp.
  2. I didn’t measure any of the vegetables or protein at all because A. who measures things? and B. BIG fan of chunky soup. If you’re not, then don’t make this soup I guess…?

Here are the items required and the ways that I adjusted them in (bold):

  • 6 tablespoons butter (I used all 6 tbsp. but I truly don’t think it’s dire that you use that much. You could probably settle for half.)
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 3 tablespoons flour (Towards the end of the soup-making process, I also added 1 1/2 tbsp of cornstarch…. really not sure if it actually made a difference.)
  • 2 teaspoons salt (couple shakes from the salt shaker)
  • 1 teaspoon pepper (couple shakes from the pepper shaker)
  • 6 cups chicken broth
  • 1 1/2 pounds mushrooms, sliced (I probably used about this much… I bought a large container and a regular sized container of mushrooms and used all but 6 of them.)
  • 3/4 cup sliced celery (3 full stalks)
  • 3/4 cup chopped carrots (10 baby carrots)
  • 2 cups quartered baby red potatoes (3 baby red potatoes)
  • 1 cup chopped yellow squash (1 full yellow squash)
  • 1 1/2 cups frozen corn kernels, thawed (oops….)
  • 2 teaspoons thyme (Meh, not a big fan of thyme so I just did a tiny shake of it.)
  • 2 cups light cream (Just so you know, light cream is half and half. didn’t know that until I was pacing the dairy aisle while searching for the answer on Google.)
  • 3/4 cup grated Parmesan, plus more for garnish if desired
  • 2 cups chopped cooked chicken (Used a package of chicken breasts. Moar chicken good yum.)

Also, celery is really pretty. Took this while preppin’ and all that jazzy stuff…

IMG_4135

I followed the directions on the site pretty much verbatim. So if you missed it the first time, click this link and check out the directions. This soup yielded a ridiculous amount. I had 3 tupperware containers full as well as 3 pint sized mason jars (which I now love and want to use for food storage forever AND they are the perfect serving size for soup) and it turned out deliciously. Also, if you put the soup in the mason jars immediately after making it, they seal before they cool down. KEWL.

I didn’t have a chance to take a picture of the soup all pretty like so until then, enjoy this picture from the recipe website– imagine this minus corn and that’s what I’m eating.

creamy-mushroom-chicken-soup-winter-recipe-photo-420-FF0209SOUPA01

I tried 1 bowl of it so far and have plenty more bowls to go– the only thing I plan on adding to this soup is some truffle oil to make it more mushroomy and I can’t wait to do that.

So before I end this post, I gotta give a shout out to the knife Jeff and Diana got me for Christmas. First of all, it’s the most beautiful color green and there’s pretty much every color under the sun available for purchase. Second of all, it cuts through raw vegetables like they’re butter. I’m in love and plan on buying more. Here’s my promoting Kuhn Rikon Swiss knives. They’re incredibly affordable, and a quality, sharp knife truly makes the difference between suffering through cooking and enjoying cooking. However, ye be warned, sharp knives can cause a different kind of suffering through cooking, which I nearly experienced multiple times chopping vegetables today.

To end this post in typically shitty form, here is an interesting article about dogs pooping. It’s actually rather interesting.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

One thought on “New Years Resolution: Engaged!

  1. make some soup and bring it to the studio next tuesday so i can try it. ummm…..please. Yea, please. See ya later

Leave a Reply

